A delegation from the Ministry for Tourism attends WTO General Assembly in China

The 22nd meeting of the General Assembly of the World Tourism Organisation (WTO) took place in the Chinese city of ChengdA� from 11th to 16th September, with its central issue the election of the new General Secretary of the tourism sector international body.

More than 1300 delegates representing around 130 countries attended the assembly, including a delegation from the Ministry for Tourism from the Republic of Equatorial Guinea, made up of the Director General for the Advancement and Promotion of Tourism, Maria Milagrosa Nchama Nzoho, the Chinese language interpreter, Consolacion Ayingono Mba Obono, and Mahua Bendje Ngongolo.

During the four days, the assembly debated WTO priority issues for the 2018-2019 period, such as the transformation of the ethical code for Tourism into an international convention, and the influence of technology on the sector.

In addition, the candidate from Georgia, Zurab Pololikashvili was designated as the new General Secretary for the 2018-2021 period, replacing Taleb Rifia, the current WTO General Secretary, who has led the International Organisation for eight years.

Furthermore, 11 candidates were presented to occupy the five vacant positions for Africa on the Executive Council, among them the Republic of Equatorial Guinea, and Cape Verde, Namibia, Republic of the Congo, Sudan and Zimbabwe were chosen.

For its part, the WTO Commission for Africa designated the location for the 61st meeting of the WTO Commission for Africa (CAF), which fell to the city of Abuja, Nigeria, and will be held in May 2018.

Source: Official Web Page of the Government of the Republic of Equatorial Guinea

You May Also Like