Agreements of the 16th Summit of the ECCAS

From May 24 to 25, the conference hall of the capital of Chad hosted the work of the 16th Summit of Heads of State and Government of the Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS).

Five presidents attended the 16th Summit of Heads of State and Government of the ECCAS: H.E. Obiang Nguema Mbasogo of Equatorial Guinea, Ali Bongo Ondimba of Gabon, Idriss Deby Itno of Chad, Denis Sassou of Congo Brazzaville and Catherine Zamba Panza of the Central African Republic. It was also attended by representatives of other member countries, as well as the first ladies of Equatorial Guinea and Chad, Constancia Mangue de Obiang and Hinda Deby.

The N’Djamena summit has served to reinforce the ECCAS, find a peaceful solution to the political conflicts faced by some African countries such as Burundi and the Central African Republic, and to seek agreements for the total elimination of the terrorist group Boko Haram.

In his speech, the Chadian President spoke of promoting peace, stability and development, in order to ensure the integration of the member countries of the ECCAS and made mention, also, of the issue of movement of people and their goods in the CEMAC space.

In this meeting, the outgoing president of the ECCAS asked the Government and people of Burundi for calm and respect of the constitution, while he asked the Central Africans to comply with the agreements of the Bangui Reconciliation Forum.

During the summit the Heads of State held a meeting behind closed doors, where they chose the Gabonese President, Ali Bongo Ondimba, as the new Chairman of the ECCAS and appointed the former Head of State of Chad, Goukouni Oueddei, as Ambassador of the ECCAS in Burundi.

Another aspect to highlight of the 16th Summit of the ECCAS, which coincided with the commemoration of World Africa Day and the anniversary of the Organization of African Unity, now the African Union, is the integration of Rwanda in this institution that is now made up by the following countries: Angola, Burundi, Cameroon, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Central African Republic, Congo Brazzaville, Democratic Republic of Congo, Sao Tome and Principe, Chad and Rwanda.

During his stay in N’Djamena, the Head of State and Government and President of the CEMAC, H.E. Obiang Nguema Mbasogo, received the President of the Energy Foundation for Africa, Jean Louis Borloo.

Text: Maria Jesus Nsang Nguema
Photo: Manuel Mangue
(Presidential Press Team)

Equatorial Guinea’s Press and Information Office

You May Also Like