China and Africa aspire to a community of destiny through cooperation

On 25th June, China promised to work with African countries to extend cooperation based on equality and opening up, in order to build a community of destiny.

This happened when the Chinese State Councillor and Minister for Foreign Relations, Wang Yi, gave a speech at the opening ceremony of the Coordinators Meeting for the Implementation of Monitoring Actions, at the Beijing Summit of the China-Africa Cooperation Forum (FOCAC).

After reading the letter of congratulations from the Chinese President, H. E. Xi Jinping, addressed to the meeting, Wang said that it fully expressed the deep friendship with African countries and their peoples, and shows the firm desire of the Chinese Government to establish friendly cooperation.

In order to implement the China-Africa cooperation project in the new era, the Asian country is prepared to work with the African side on the implementation of promises of specific effective action, and on the achievement of full implementation of the agreements and results reached at the FOCAC Beijing Summit, said Wang.

Wang also asked for adherence to the basic proposal of building a community of destiny and to development through the joint construction of the Belt and Road, to defending multilateralism and to safeguarding the common interests of developing countries and emerging markets, “No disruption will alter our determination to extend cooperation, and no difficulty will hinder our joint progress in order to achieve revitalisation”, he said.

After the opening ceremony, Yang Jiechi, a member of the Political Bureau of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of China (CPC) and director of the Office of the Foreign Affairs Commission from the CPC Central Committee, met four Foreign Affairs ministers from African countries: Simeon Oyono Esono, from Equatorial Guinea, Nabeela Tunis, from Sierra Leone, Naledi Pandor, from South Africa and Amadou Ba, from Senegal.

Today Wang Yi also met Foreign Affairs Ministers from Equatorial Guinea, Zimbabwe, Lesotho, Ivory Coast, Ghana, Uganda and Libya, and an Economics official from Eritrea.

Source: Equatorial Guinea Press and Information Office

You May Also Like