Embassy in Portugal celebrates anniversary of National Independence

The Equatorial Guinea Embassy in Portugal has celebrated the 49th Anniversary of National Independence in the presence of senior figures from Portuguese political life: the diplomatic corps, entrepreneurs, the academic community, and members of the Equatoguinean colony.

The event began with words from the ambassador Tito Mba Ada, who expressed greetings of peace to the President of the Republic, H. E. Obiang Nguema Mbasogo. He also underlined that for Equatorial Guinea, 2017 had been marked by effort and conquest in the short time since its integration within the Community of Portuguese Language Countries (CPLP). In addition, he recalled the UNESCO Prize in Life Sciences, the initiative promoted entirely by the Equatoguinean Government, which in its 2017 edition will recognise with awards a Portuguese researcher and another from Brazil.

Furthermore, the diplomat requested collaboration from Portuguese universities with the training of human capital in our country, and thanked those who made possible the election of Equatorial Guinea as non-permanent member of the UN Security Council. With respect to that, the ambassador expressed the determination of our country to cooperate with all States in favour of peace in the world.

Before concluding his speech, Mba Ada highlighted the warm welcome that the Portuguese Government reserves for Equatoguineans, and invited the entrepreneurs present to invest in our country.

Following the speech, there was a performance by the Equatoguinean singers Piruchi Apo, Gorsi Edu and Bety Akna, who received prizes for their contribution to the spreading of Equatoguinean culture beyond our borders.

Among the guests at the event was the adviser in international relations to the President of the Portuguese Republic, Ana Martinho; the representative of the Portuguese National Assembly, Manuel Caldeiran; the executive secretary of the CPLP, Maria do Carmo Sirviera, and the adviser to the Equatoguinean diplomatic mission, Arcemio Moro, among others.

Source: Official Web Page of the Government of the Republic of Equatorial Guinea

You May Also Like