Equatorial Guinea chosen as headquarters for the Information Centre for South-South and Triangular Cooperation in Africa

A delegation from the Republic of Equatorial Guinea led by the Deputy Minister for Foreign Affairs and Cooperation, Bonifacio Mitogo Bindang, attended the II United Nations International Conference on South-South and Triangular Cooperation, which took place in Buenos Aires (Argentina).

This second conference takes place 40 years after the adoption of the Buenos Aires Action Plan during the first conference.

Accompanying the Deputy Minister were the Director general for International Bodies, Mari Cruz A�ndeme Evuna, the Ambassador Charged with General Missions, JesA�s Ela Abeme, and the official Florentina Eko.

Our Government is attending the conference to officially communicate to the international community that Equatorial Guinea has been chosen by the Africa, Caribbean and Pacific Group of Countries (ACP), to accommodate the Information Centre for South-South and Triangular Cooperation in Africa.

The policy of openness from the President of the Republic, H. E. Obiang Nguema Mbasogo, is aimed at developing cooperation between countries of the south, within a framework of win-win mutual benefit which is transparent and unconditional, the defence of which must come within the framework of multilateralism, as the only viable option within globalisation, in order to achieve the United Nations Social Development Goals and the African Union Agenda 2063 Goals.

This conference comes within a global context of cooperation between developing countries in a wide range of areas, including the political, economic, social, cultural, environmental and technological. Over recent decades, this meeting has allowed countries to associate in conditions of horizontality and mutual benefit in order to exchange knowledge and strengthen capacities in a wide range of areas.

Speaking at the session were the President of Argentina, H. E. Mauricio Macri; the United nations General Secretary, Antonio Gutierrez; the presidents of the UN General Assembly, Maria Fernanda Espinosa and the Economic and Social Council of the United nations (ECOSOC), Inga Rhonda King, and the UNDP Administrator, Achim Steiner.

Source: Equatorial Guinea Press and Information Office

You May Also Like