Equatorial Guinea: New Government At Work

The new government was announced on Friday, June 24, 2016.

The new government formed after President Teodoro Obiang Ngema’s re-election on April 24, 2016 winning 93.7 per cent of the votes cast is already at work. The 36-member government was announced on State television of Friday, June 24, 2016. The president first of all dissolved the country’s government on June 17 as provided by the constitution.

Before naming the new government, President Obiang Nguema last Wednesday promoted his eldest son, Teodorin Nguema Obiang to the position of Vice President in charge of defence and security. He was previously holding the position of Second Vice President since 2012.

President Obiang Nguema’s other son Gabriel Obiang Lima Mbega, retained the strategic Ministry of Mines and Hydrocarbons. The President’s brother, Antonio Mba Nguema, took over one of the two newly created offices, Department of Presidential Security. A new member of government Reginaldo Asue Mango heads the Department of Planning.

Equatorial Guinea’s official Webpage states that the Prime Minister of the Government for Administrative Coordination is Vicente Ehate Tomi. The First Deputy Prime Minister for Political Affairs, Democracy and Minister of Internal Affairs and Local Corporations, Clemente Engonga Nguema Onguene, Second Deputy Prime Minister for Social Affairs is Franscisco Pascual Obama Asue and the Third Deputy Prime Minister for Human Rights, Alfonso Nsue Mokuy. Reports say, eight new ministers have entered the government which has three women.

Source: Cameroon Tribune

You May Also Like