Equatorial Guinea to join UN Security Council

Equatorial Guinea will be a non-permanent member of the UN Security Council from 1st January 2018, following the vote which took place on 2nd June at the United Nations General Assembly in New York.

Equatorial Guinea obtained 185 votes, which will allow non-permanent membership of the UN Security Council for the two-year period 2018-2019, representing Africa, together with Ivory Coast, while Peru will be one of the representatives from the Latin America and Caribbean region, Kuwait for Asia, and Poland for Eastern Europe.

The UN Security Council is made up of five permanent members (China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom and the United States), and 10 non-permanent members elected by the General Assembly for a period of two years.

Equatorial Guinea, Ivory Coast, Peru, Kuwait and Poland will join Bolivia, Ethiopia, Italy, Kazakhstan and Sweden in 2018, to take the places vacated by Egypt, Japan, Senegal, Ukraine and Uruguay.

Minutes after the announcement, made by the acting President of the General Assembly, Peter Thompson, members of the Equatoguinean Government, led by the Prime Minister, Francisco Pascual Obama Asue, received congratulations from representatives of various countries.

In his capacity as representative of the Head of State, Obama Asue thanked all the friendly States who voted overwhelmingly in favour of the Equatorial Guinea candidacy, and asked the world to unite its efforts to work for the benefit of peace so that Development Objectives can become a reality.

Source: Official Web Page of the Government of the Republic of Equatorial Guinea

You May Also Like