Investiture ceremony for Angolan Head of State

On Tuesday 26th September, the Head of State, H. E. Obiang Nguema Mbasogo, attended the investiture ceremony and assumption of office of the new president of Angola, Joao Lourenco, following the mandate of Jose Eduardo Dos Santos, after 38 years in power.

The new president is JoAPound o Manuel Goncalves Lourenco, who was sworn in and assumed office as president elect of the Republic of Angola, after winning the elections of 23rd August, in which his party, the People’s Movement for the Liberation of Angola (MPLA), obtained some 64.57% of the votes in favour, against the opposition, the National Union for the Total Independence of Angola (UNITA).

This ceremony was attended by an Equatoguinean delegation led by the Head of State, H. E. Obiang Nguema Mbasogo, various heads of State from the African subregions, such as H. E. Denis Sassou-Nguesso, from Congo Brazaville, H. E. Ali Bongo Ondimba from Gabon, H. E. Jacob Zuma from South Africa, and H. E. Alfa Conde from Guinea Conakry, among other figures from international bodies.

The current President Joao Lourenco, from Lobito, Benguele, has a degree in History and has held various posts, including that of Minister for Defence.

The speech by the new Head of State, Joao Lourenco, and the military parade, brought this day of celebration for the Angolan people to a close. Since its independence on 11th November 1975, Angola has been led by three leaders from the MPLA party.

Following the investiture ceremony and assumption of office by the new president elect of Angola, H. E. Obiang Nguema Mbasogo returned to Equatorial Guinea.

Source: Official Web Page of the Government of the Republic of Equatorial Guinea

You May Also Like