Plan to link the countries of ECCAS with optical fiber

The Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS) signed an agreement with the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) to develop a plan of interconnection of member countries through optical fiber.

Idriss Deby, President of the ECCAS.

The General Secretariat of the ECCAS informed that the plan for interconnection of the Member States via optical fiber was signed with the ITU on May 28, at the headquarters of the international organization in Geneva (Switzerland).

This cooperation agreement will facilitate the harmonization and development of national regulations on telecommuni-cations for Internet security in the region.

The electronic communications infrastructures and the creation of national and regional programs of Internet exchange points are also included in this agreement.

The ECCAS includes Equatorial Guinea, Cameroon, Gabon, Chad, Congo-Brazzaville, Central African Republic, Sao Tome and Principe, Angola, Burundi and Democratic Republic of Congo.

Text: A.A.
Equatorial Guinea’s Press and Information Office

You May Also Like