Presentation of awards for Gepetrol National Akong Tournament

In the Grand Hall of the National Petroleum Company, Gepetrol, on 16th October, the presentation of trophies in the National Akong Tournament took place, which featured on the table of honour the representative from the Ministry for Culture, the Director General from the Equatoguinean Cultural Centre, and Gepetrol directors, led by the General Director, Antonio Oburu Ondo. Also present in the hall were the winners of the tournament, the referees, other players who took part in the competition, and fans in general.

During his speech, the Gepetrol Director General thanked the Government for making the defence and promotion of our ancient culture possible, pointing out that thanks to the support we have to make history in order to raise, modernise, internationalise and extol this national game, so that it achieves the status and international prestige enjoyed by other games of strategy, such as chess, for example.

In this first Akong tournament, the winners of the three first places were:

First Prize: Sebastian Owono, who obtained a cash prize of ten million Franco CFA, a commemorative trophy, and the first Golden Akong Board, in addition to the title of “Best Strategist in the Country”.

Second Prize: Segismundo Ekuaga Obama, who won three million Franco CFA.

Third Prize: Salvador Ekua Nguema, who took away the sum of one million Franco CFA.

There was also a mention of honour for fourth place, Baltasar Owono Nguema.

The prize-winners declared their satisfaction at winning such important prizes provided by Gepetrol and private sponsors.

Gepetrol took the initiative to promote this national game, and intends to raise its prestige, not only nationally, but also on an international level.

Source: Equatorial Guinea Press and Information Office

You May Also Like