President attends opening of extraordinary session of Technical Committee on Migration in Africa

On 2nd November, at the International Palace of Conferences in Sipopo, the Head of State, H. E. Obiang Nguema Mbasogo, oversaw the opening ceremony of the extraordinary session of the Technical Committee on Migration, refugees and Displaced Persons in Africa.

“The African continent is suffering permanent instability, following the abusive exploitation of its natural resources by colonial powers. Its countries were abandoned to their fate, lacking solid economic structures, and with non-existent technology for development, which is why all African countries are fighting against underdevelopment. Further still, when currently they suffer from permanent dependency and extortion from developed countries for the exploitation of their natural resources.

This general basic reason for all Africans has created the current crisis of instability in their societies, the massive flight of their citizens to other latitudes and beyond the African continent.

We believe that the current mass emigration of Africans to Europe is precisely due to the crisis of underdevelopment that causes a great depression for Africans in their own countries, so that this emigration cannot be stopped while the situation of underdevelopment remains in Africa.

Here it is worth mentioning the historic debt that Europe has with the African continent. Europe could adopt all the mechanisms to fight the already uncontrolled immigration, but the only solution is that it must make amends for the damage caused, in such a way that it must adopt a type of economic Marshall Plan for Africa, in order to accompany its States towards economic emergence”. These were some of the words pronounced by the President of the Republic during the opening of the work of the committee.

In the presence of various figures, including the presidents of constitutional bodies, the Prime Minister of the Government, Charged with Administrative Coordination, Francisco Pascual Obama Asue, and the PDGE General Secretary, Jeronimo Osa Osa Ecoro, to name a few, they also heard speeches by the Commissioner for Political Affairs from the African Union, Minata Samate Cessouma, followed by Judith Uwizeye, Minister of the Presidency of the Republic of Rwanda, and president of the technical committee. All of them, in addition to thanking the Government led by H. E. Obiang Nguema Mbasogo for hosting the work of the committee, underlined the importance of the adoption of the design for production and issue of the African Union passport and its annexes.

The work of the committee began on 29th October, and will end on 3rd November.

Source: Equatorial Guinea Press and Information Office

You May Also Like