The African Union condemns the recent attacks by Boko Haram

The Chairwoman of the African Union Commission (AU), Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma, has strongly condemned the extreme violence that the terrorist group Boko Haram continues to perpetrate in the territory of Nigeria and elsewhere in the Lake Chad Basin. At the same time, she declared that the AU is committed to providing all the necessary support to combat terrorism in the region.

Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma.

Dlamini-Zuma reiterated full solidarity of the AU with the people and Government of Nigeria, and expressed its shock and condolences to the families of the victims of the recent terrorist attacks. The Chairperson of the Commission reiterates the commitment of the organization to continue working with Nigeria and other countries in the Commission of the Lake Chad Basin and Benin, to mobilize international support needed for the multinational joint force that operates there under the mandate of the countries of the region against Boko Haram.

In this sense, given the seriousness of the actions of the terrorist group, the AU Commission has accelerated its consultations with the affected nations to facilitate the implementation of the relevant provisions of the statement, adopted on November 25, 2014, by the Peace and Security Council of this supranational organization.

The Chairwoman of the AU Commission is particularly concerned by the recent slaughter in the town of Baga, in the state of Borno, and in a market of Potiskum, in northeastern Nigeria. The violence of the terrorist group is sounding all the alarms, as there have been extreme cases of female suicide bombers, and even -as has happened in recent attacks- they have used a ten-year old girl and her immolation to conduct an attack.

The AU, speaking through its chairwoman, invites the international community to renew its commitment and support to the countries where this group operates in order to defeat it. In view of the growing threat to regional peace and security, Dlamini-Zuma stressed the urgency of a coordinated African and international response.

The community of countries of the AU is the African supranational organization dedicated to increasing the economic and political integration, and strengthening cooperation among its member States. The institution was founded in March 2001, when the Pact of Sirte was signed, which takes its name from the Libyan city where it took place.

SOURCE: Equatorial Guinea’s Press and Information Office

You May Also Like