The CEMAC countries will grow 5% in 2015

The report issued by the Fourth Meeting of the Monetary Policy Committee (MPC) states that the CEMAC zone will have a positive economic growth of approximately 5%, thanks to growth in non-oil sectors.

On the left, Lucas Abaga, chairman of
the MPC, greeting the Head of State on
his last visit to Equatorial Guinea.

The fourth ordinary meeting last December held in Douala, Cameroon, was once again chaired by the Governor of the Bank of Central African States (BEAC), the Equatorial Guinean Lucas Abaga Nchama, as statutory chairman of the MPC.

During the meeting, the delegations concluded that the area will grow approximately 5% due to growth in non-oil sectors.

After its analysis, the committee also reported the stabilization of the rate of foreign currency, which is 95.5% for the six countries of the Economic and Monetary Community of Central Africa (CEMAC): Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Cameroon, Congo, Chad and Central African Republic.

The meeting of the MPC did not lack the examination of the evolution of the macroeconomic situation global level and in the subregion in 2014 and the economic outlook for 2015.

The participants in the meeting also discussed the effect of the fall in crude oil prices in recent months at the subregional level, and set the real growth in 2014 at 4.9%.

Text: A.A.

SOURCE: Equatorial Guinea’s Press and Information Office

You May Also Like