Three new bishops for the Catholic Church in Equatorial Guinea

The capital of Malabo now has three new bishops named by the Holy Father, following a reading of the letter dated 1st April, signed by the Apostolic Nuncio of His Holiness Pope Francis in Cameroon and Equatorial Guinea, Monsignor Piero Pioppo, for the appointment of new bishops for Ebebiyin, Mongomo, and Evinayong.

The new bishop for the diocese of Mongomo, covering the territories of the provinces of Wele Nzas and Djibloho, is Juan Domingo Baca Esono Eyang, who up to now held parish responsibilities for the Claretian seminary in Bata, and professor in the Faculty of Crafts and Religious Science at the UNGE and the Purisima Higher Seminary in Bata.

Calisto Paulino Abaga Obono is appointed to the Diocese of Evinayong, comprising of the Province of Centro Sur. He is still Rector of the St. John Paul II Lower Seminary in Bata.

Furthermore, Miguel A�ngel Nguema Nve, appointed new bishop for the Diocese of Ebebiyin, is still the Provincial Superior for Salesians living in Yaunde.

As a consequence, our country now has five bishops: one in Malabo, another in Bata, and the three recently appointed to Mongomo, Evinayong and Ebebiyin.

Source: Official Web Page of the Government of the Republic of Equatorial Guinea

You May Also Like