UN women’s rights committee to review Philippines, Myanmar, France, Albania, Turkey, Uruguay, Mali, Trinidad and Tobago

The UN Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW) is meeting in Geneva from 4 to 22 July to review women’s rights in the following countries: Philippines (5 July); Myanmar (7 July); France (8 July); Albania (12 July); Turkey (13 July); Uruguay (14 July); Mali (15 July); Trinidad and Tobago (18 July).

The above countries have ratified the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women and are reviewed regularly by CEDAW on how they are implementing the Convention. The Committee, which is composed of 23 international independent experts, will hold dialogues with delegations from the respective governments and also be briefed by NGOs and national human rights institutions.

The Committee’s dialogues with the delegations will take place from 10:00 to 13:00 and from 15:00 to 17:00 at Palais des Nations � Room XVIII. Live webcasts can be viewed at www.treatybodywebcast.org.

CEDAW’s findings, officially termed concluding observations, on the countries reviewed, will be published on Monday 25 July here: http://tbinternet.ohchr.org/_layouts/treatybodyexternal/SessionDetails1.aspx?SessionID=1019amp;Lang=en

Source: Office of the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR).

You May Also Like